Nancy Haragan’s Impact on the Cultural Community

Last week the cultural community was stunned when it received the news that cultural champion and founding director of GBCA, Nancy Haragan, had passed away. I cannot count the number of conversations I had with individuals over the past week where they told me how much Nancy had done for them personally. When I began to think about that impressive statement repeated verbatim time and again, the magnitude of Nancy’s impact really sank in. I know I had my stories of how Nancy had helped me in the five years I’ve lived in Baltimore, but hearing from everyone else was awe inspiring.

Below I’ve collected a number of tributes to Nancy that have come our so far, and I know there will be several more this week.

Nancy Marie Haragan, Arts AdvocateThe Baltimore Sun by Frederick N. Rasmussen

Remembering a Pillar of the Arts CommunityMaryland Morning on WYPR by Tom Hall

Remembering Nancy Haragan – Baker Artist Awards blog by Cory Donovan with contributions from Melissa Warlow

Arts Advocate Nancy Haragan Passes
City Paper by Bret McCabe

Nancy Haragan
– GBCA

In Appreciation – Nancy Haragan
– Maryland State Arts Council

Her family has said that in lieu of flowers, donations in Nancy’s memory can be made to the Nancy Haragan Memorial Fund at the Greater Baltimore Cultural Alliance. GBCA is at 1800 N. Charles Street, Suite 810, Baltimore, MD  21201. Thank you to the many people that have already given to this new fund established in Nancy’s memory.

Leave a Reply

